Possession of a Stolen Firearm Charges in Illinois

The crime of Possession of a Stolen Firearm in Illinois is defined by 720 ILCS 5/24-3.8 as follows:

A person commits possession of a stolen firearm when he or she, not being entitled to the possession of a firearm, possesses the firearm, knowing it to have been stolen or converted. The trier of fact may infer that a person who possesses a firearm with knowledge that its serial number has been removed or altered has knowledge that the firearm is stolen or converted.

Possession of a Stolen Firearm in Illinois is a Class 2 felony, meaning that a person who is convicted faces a prison sentence of 2-5 years and a fine of up to $25,000.

As a conviction for Possession of a Stolen Firearm is itself a felony, a person who is convicted will be barred from possessing firearms in the future.

Anyone who is accused of Possession of a Stolen Firearm in Illinois is wise to exercise their right to remain silent, and seek an attorney at once, as it is important to handle the case properly.

See also  Deceptive Practice (Bad Check) Charges in Illinois