Under Iowa Law, as codified in Iowa Code 903.1, there are 3 classes of misdemeanors, each with its own possible term of imprisonment and fine. This article addresses those Iowa misdemeanors.
Aggravated misdemeanor sentence in Iowa
An aggravated misdemeanor is the most serious form of misdemeanor in Iowa. It carries a prison term of 2 years, and a fine of at least $625 but not more than $6,250. Because Iowa’s aggravated misdemeanor charge has the potential for a term in prison of 2 years, most other states (and the US federal government) treat an Iowa aggravated misdemeanor conviction as though it is an out-of-state felony conviction. That makes the aggravated misdemeanor a charge that can have long-lasting consequences.
Serious misdemeanor sentence in Iowa
The serious misdemeanor charge in Iowa is punishable by up to a year in the county jail and a fine between $315 and $1,875.
Simple misdemeanor sentence in Iowa
A simple misdemeanor charge in Iowa carries up to 30 days in the county jail and a fine of between $65 and $625.
Some simple misdemeanors in Iowa, such as simple traffic offense, are punishable by only a scheduled fine and not jail time.