Iowa law defines the crime of Lascivious Acts with a Child in Iowa Code section 709.8 as follows:
It is unlawful for any person eighteen years of age or older to perform any of the following acts with a child with or without the child’s consent unless married to each other, for the purpose of arousing or satisfying the sexual desires of either of them:
1. Fondle or touch the pubes or genitals of a child.
2. Permit or cause a child to fondle or touch the person’s genitals or pubes.
3. Solicit a child to engage in a sex act or solicit a person to arrange a sex act with a child.
4. Inflict pain or discomfort upon a child or permit a child to inflict pain or discomfort on the person.
Under Iowa law, the crime of Lascivious Acts with a Child is a Class D felony, which can result in a prison term of 5 years upon conviction. Iowa also imposes a term of parole or work release upon those convicted of Lascivious Acts with a Child that is to not exceed 2 years.
A charge of Lascivious Acts with a Child in Iowa is a serious one, due to the possible prison term, sex offender registration requirements, and stigma associated with such sexual offenses. For that reason, a person accused of Lascivious Acts with a Child is wise to seek an attorney at once.